Recycled Cycles

Keeping Seattle Rolling Since 1994

Resolutions or Goals?

Photo by sharpneil

Photo by sharpneil

If you don’t know where you are going,
you’ll end up someplace else.
~ Yogi Berra

The idea of making resolutions at the start of a new year makes me wary. I always feel like I’m setting myself up to fail – and more often than not, I admit, I do. This year, instead, I’m calling it goal-setting. I’ve got one big goal (ride the STP with my 14-year-old son without letting him totally dust me) and mini goals that lead up to it. I find it easier – and more fun – to have something to work toward, rather than stressing out about giving up chocolate or trying to quit biting my nails.

Even if you’re not interested in tackling a big group ride like STP, think about the new year as a chance to set some personal goals. Small, achievable, measurable steps are a great way to move forward without overwhelming yourself. But be sure to choose something meaningful – know why you want to reach that goal, or it will be easy to quit. Perhaps most important, be specific: instead of saying “I will ride more this year,” try “I’ll sign up for 3 organized rides” or “I’ll commute to work by bike twice a week March through September.”

Here are some links to help get you rolling:

  • If you’re looking for dates to put on the calendar, Cascade’s event calendar is a great place to start.
  • For some help honing your skills, try CycleU.
  • Consider working with a coach. Our friends at Corpore Sano can give you a cycling-specific physical therapist’s perspective and knowledge. We’ve known Dan Harm of HARM Coaching forever – he is awesome and can help with everything from technique to endurance.
  • Want to get the family involved? We’ve got great deals on used kids’ bikes, and the selection is always changing! Also, check out Kidical Mass for great family-friendly rides.
Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

